Ode to Boston

Ever since I started this blog I knew that I wanted to devote at least a couple of entries to my home, Boston. It’s too bad that now that I finally have the time it’s in the shadow of yesterday’s tragedy.

Boston is my favorite city and I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else. You may think I’m biased because I’ve lived within a Boston zip code for five years, and within 15 miles of Boston for 20 years, but I have also done a good deal of travelling by now and Boston still owns my heart. Other cities are great to visit and explore, but Boston is my home.

I love Boston and all it has to offer: high-caliber performing arts organizations, world-class museums and galleries, passionate sports teams with their equally passionate (and yes, sometimes irritating) fans, its deep history, the countless number of educational institutions it offers, the ancient but efficient T, Castle Island, its labyrinth of one-way cobblestone streets that only locals can maneuver, the beautiful Public Gardens and Boston Commons with its iconic Swan Boats and Frog Pond, New England’s four seasons (although often it just feels like one long winter), the city and state’s liberalism, Fenway Park, its diversity, its fiercely loyal natives and newly established residents, the different neighborhoods and each one’s unique sense of culture, the city’s recent drive for technology and innovation, its conveniently located airport, top-notch medical facilities, the Esplanade, its music, the waterfront, and, of course, its offerings of good beer and delicious food — all within an easily walkable commute.

Some people may think that Northeastern city-dwellers are hard and unfriendly. But that’s simply not true. Instead we’re motivated and determined. We walk fast, talk fast, work hard, and play hard. Since the founding of this country our great commonwealth has been blazing trails and embracing the ideals of “life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.” We don’t care if that means making tons of money, playing music, enjoying some marijuana, or simply being able to love the person you choose to love – regardless of their sex, color, or religion. Whether or not we agree with your choice, we believe in the freedom of that choice.

I am lucky enough to say that none of my family or friends were physically harmed during the Boston Marathon bombing, but my heart is heavy for those who cannot say the same. I know for certain that President Obama is correct in stating that “Boston is a tough and resilient town; so are its people. I’m supremely confident that Bostonians will pull together, take care of each other, and move forward as one proud city.” We are, and we will. This is demonstrated when you hear the stories of the hundreds of first responders, marathon volunteers, marathon runners, and fellow civilians immediately running towards the bomb scene to help the wounded – and the people who continue to help those who were displaced once the investigation began.

We are Boston, Massachusetts: the Spirit of America.

Boston Skyline at Sunset

Leave a Reply

